What direction are you looking?

Wise man say look to the past so you don’t repeat your mistakes.  Moving sidewalk say look to the future before you trip and fall.
PictureI recently tallied up the hours spent on planes so far this year. I came up with 179 hours and 52 minutes. That’s actually in the air and not including the time spent on the ground.  Seriously?  No wonder I have an entire hard drive devoted to personal pictures.  Like most of us I take pictures of the places and things I see so I can remember some of the more interesting parts of my trips. Today I saw a sign while walking through Heathrow international and it made me stop and remember there’s another reason I value my photos.True enough, they remind me of some great times and not so great times., but they also serve as a type of checklist reminding me of people and places I want to see again. While flipping through the shoot with the London Ballet Company last year, I remembered to shoot an email to the members of the group to congratulate them on their recent James Bond inspired performance and take the chance to start planning a portrait shoot for them early next year. Seriously, how could I pass up the chance to spend some time with these beautiful people again? Looking back at their photos started me down a path that lead to planning great things in the future. Funny how that happens, huh?

That engagement or family portrait on your wall (by the way, you looked amazing) is another example. It’s not just a mile marker of an incredible day when everybody was able to get together.  Yep, it was a fun day but people have grown, maybe family members may have been added and everybody has moved on to new and bigger accomplishments. The “today you” is just as worthy of taking its place next to their place on your wall, or that snazzy personal web platform your photographer provided.  I guess the moral of this story is as old as it is simple. Keep an eye on the past and remember the good times and learn from the bad, but don’t forget to get excited by all the cool things you’re going to do tomorrow. Trust me, you’re a rock star.

What’s that? You can’t pull up your incredible photos on your own web platform and brag to all your friends with a swipe of your smart phone or web device? Wow…I really think we should talk.

Sean

Leave a Reply

