Trip down memory lane

Yesterday I came across a video that really threw me for a loop.  I mean, it was one of those life changing, “holy cow” kinda moments.  Have you seen the “One Second Everyday” video yet?  If not, you have to check it out after this.  It’s a video by Cesar Kuriyama and he shares his experiences with a personal project  to take a single one-second video everyday and piece it together.  He did it, in part, because he realized he would forget so many moments in his life and it really bothered him.  That’s cool enough, but he plans to do it for the rest of his life!  At some point in the future he is going to have a five hour video…five hours!  I started thinking, I’m “that guy”.  I’m the guy who is going wake up someday and realize I can’t remember all the the little moments that make me what I am…wow.  You guessed it, first thing this morning I was digging through my hard drives and surfing through the countless folders of images I have.

Picture

I must’ve spent an hour laughing at some of the good times and…well, remembering some tough moments too.  LCpl Clinton Miller, LCpl Budd Cote and Cpl MattDillon…Semper Fidelis, Brothers.

 

 

Picture This one made my shoulders ache.  Yeah, I know, photographers are supposed to take awesome photos every time we pick up the camera and this one is far from perfect.  The thing is, that wasn’t the point and I didn’t even care about the imperfection in this shot.  All I thought about was my baby sister took me indoor rock climbing a couple of years back and I had a freakin’ blast!  Seriously, it was one of the most exhausting and incredible afternoons I’ve ever had.  Yes, she’s upside down by her fingers and toes and yes she’s pretty kick-butt…and yes I’m going to pay for the baby sister comment.  Bring it on, Sis.

Picture

I can still hear this little guy’s infectious, genuine laugh.  I’m smiling now, years later as I’m typing this out.  That is the power of his laugh and this photo.

 

Picture

Powder therapy after one of the trips overseas.  That night, while we were dancing on very tired and stiff legs, I looked over and saw a guy dancing in a 6′ tall bear costume.  Why?  Who knows, but you go Mr. Bear Costume wearer…you go.

Picture My hiking partner came around the corner and I was sound asleep on the most comfortable rock you’ve ever seen.  Guess that’s what happens when you don’t sleep because you’ve been out all night…but what a night.

 

 

 

 

The AWESOME Susan D on the photoshoot for the home page images for Sean Purcell Photography.  Yep, you guessed it, I was sitting on those tracks about a minute before the train came around the corner.  Susan doesn’t place any pressure on her subjects at all.

 

Picture I was a personal trainer while in Florida.  The lady beating me on this sprint is Elsie, my mentor and the most intense workout partner I’ve ever had.  Those rock stars in the back?  They had just finished one of our boot camp style workouts, and this is what happens when I taunt them with “If I can do it, you can!”  Yeah…I had to do it.  Ugh.

Picture
Probably one of my favorite location photos from 2012.  This was right down the road from the shoot location the London Ballet Company’s advertisement shoot.  They were awesome!  I’m pretty sure I saw them actually levitate a few times.  I still have no idea how people can jump that high or bend like that.

So maybe I do have a tendency to move a little too fast and sometimes let life zip by a bit too quickly.  Maybe, but that’s something I’m going to make a point to work on from here on out.  In the mean time, I’m so very thankful that I have these images (literally thousands of them) to look back on as little reminders.  Okay, if you’ll excuse me, I have another whole folder I just found.  See you next time everybody.

Sean

Leave a Reply

