The other half of SP Photography

“Surround yourself with people smarter than you.” 
Chris Albrecht, CEO of Home Box Office (HBO).
After deciding to make the move to start Sean Purcell Photography I was struck with the terrifying realization of an ever increasing list of things I didn’t know.  Worse yet, I had a sinking feeling I didn’t even know enough to know what I didn’t know…yikes!!!Fortunately for me I knew just enough to know it was time to reach out to a friend who had over a decade of business and creative wedding planning experience.  I don’t mind telling you that I let out a huge sigh of relief when she agreed to help (and by help I mean save my business butt) with SP Photography.  So now, it’s time for everybody to meet the one…the only…the amazing Amanda!!
Picture

So, Amanda, where did you call home while growing up?

Avoca, according to my zip code.  It’s about 10 miles out of Port Huron, Michigan. I went to Yale schools, though, it’s St Clair county.  For those of you scratching your heads, it’s about 75 miles North of Detroit. 

 Right, so you’re basically Canadian?

How many times have we talked about this?  Just because I can throw a rock and hit the border, does that mean I’m Canadian, aay!?

  Was that where you first become interested in photography?

   I’ve been interested in photography for as long as I can remember. From a very early age, cameras have been a huge part of my life. My Dad was really into photography, and given our closeness, I suppose some of that rubbed off on me. You’ll find very few photos of me with my family, since I’m always the one behind the camera.

   What’s your idea of the perfect way to spend a day off?

  Hmm….the perfect day off? I’d have to say jumping in the car, and taking a drive to the other side of Michigan. There’s so much to do and see there, it’s really quite relaxing. Quaint towns, tons of lighthouses (one of my all time favorite things to photograph), and an amazing botanical garden with a huge butterfly house that I can get lost in for HOURS with my camera. Then, back to the lighthouses at sunset. Nothing beats a beautiful couple standing combined with a lighthouse and a setting sun. 🙂

   With all the fantastic craziness surrounding wedding preparation, what’s your favorite part about talking to new brides-to-be?

   I love every aspect of meeting with brides, but if I had to pick an absolute favorite? I’d say it’s the initial consultation. As a photographer and former floral designer, I get to meet newly engaged couples who are still super excited to be in the planning stages. Their enthusiasm is always contagious, and it’s easy to get swept away in the magic. It’s something I’ll never grow tired of.

With all your business experience, would you consider yourself the more serious side of SP Photography?
  Um, never mind.

  Do you remember that time you asked me check if the light outside the door was firing?  Uh huh, I’m definitely the serious one…and hey, after you stopped laughing I did tell you the light was firing, right? 😉
 

Picture

   Where do you get your inspiration when helping brides design some of their most memorable elements of their weddings?

   A little bit of everywhere, honestly. Events I attend, websites like Pinterest, magazines.  Not just bridal weddings.  Magazines in general are an awesome resource for planning events. Look at all of the photos and you can’t help but be inspired. I store it all in my brain, and pull from it as needed.

   Orange juice or coffee, how do you get moving in the morning?

  Ohhh, good Lord, gimme coffee. A hot cup of strong coffee is enough to blast through any morning…even Monday 😉

Leave a Reply

