Capturing Moments in Time

A few months ago, Sean wrote about how photographs capture a moment in time and how fun it is to walk down memory lane.That really resonated with me, and I must say, this is one of my major goals in life: to capture as many moments as possible, whether it be through writing or photography, and I do it every day.

The two projects I am most proud of are my “Josie Journal” and “Genevieve Grace, week by week” (Yes, I give everything titles. Don’t you?).

The “Josie Journal” is a journal I use to record something about my oldest daughter every single day. It grew out of the calendar my mom gave me to record little snippets when she was a baby (which I am also doing for my youngest). Once she got older, I couldn’t fit everything from the day in a tiny square, and needed more space.

Picture
Now, don’t get me wrong, I take dozens of pictures of my two daughters DAILY, but I decided to get a little more structured with my second daughter, and thus the weekly photo was born.I knew I wanted to do a monthly photo in the same chair with the same teddy bear sitting next to her, but after I realized I had taken pictures of Genevieve in the same rocker from roughly the same angle when she was exactly one week old and two weeks old, I realized I had to keep it up. Now I have a folder on my desktop (and facebook — who am I kidding? I’m the classic over-sharer on facebook) and I am so very proud of them.

Sure, they’re not perfect. It took me a while to get the right angle and decide how big to make the font, and the coloring is different in every one because they are taken at different times of the day and in different locations in my house. And sure, she spends most of the time these days trying to buck herself out of the rocker instead of sleeping or playing along, but … you guys, come on. They’re awesome.Watching that little face fatten up, her little body lengthen, her smile get bigger, and her eyes get brighter? I just love them. I’ll always have these to look back on and see her first year pass by like a flip book (which will certainly make me cry in years to come), but I HAVE them. They’re mine to keep.

For this project, it made sense to do it on my own, but some need a professional to capture (don’t remind me about the horrible outcomes of NOT having a professional on hand for your biggest moments!). If you do need a great photographer, I have one in mind who can do great work for you. *wink wink*

So what about you? What is the project you’re most proud of? How do you capture your most cherished memories? Have a photo series you’re especially proud of? A clever idea for your wedding day photo shoot? A unique way of displaying pictures in your home? Share your brilliance here so you can inspire others!

You can find Veronica at her blog, Veronica M.D. (no, she’s not a real doctor), on Twitter, and InstagramFeel free to stalk her. She encourages it.

Leave a Reply

