Mother’s Day Ideas for the Photo-Obsessed

Has Mother’s Day crept up on you again? Don’t worry, it happens to the best of us. Wondering what the mothers in your life would like?

Personally, since I am elbow-deep in fixing up the yard at our new house, a weeping ornamental cherry tree or a nice big lilac bush would be divine. Or a new point-and-shoot camera. Okay, or maybe some gin. FINE. A case of wine. WHATEVER.

Honestly, though, some of my favorite gifts to get and give are photographs, and if you want to give one for Mother’s Day there are so many creative ideas out there!

A few years ago I noticed that a picture of my mom on her wedding day looked very similar to one of her mother on her wedding day, so I framed prints together, and viola. 

Picture
I love it. They’e both so beautiful.

So, I decided to compile some other ideas to spark your creativity and give you some photo inspiration for Mother’s Day! These are all things you could do on your own, but all of these could be even better with the help of a professional to aide in the design and execution.

I love writing on little feet! This version uses Photoshop, but writing right on those chubby little feet would be fun, too!

Or how about asking the kids what each one loves about their mama? This could be done every year. It would be fun to see how the answers change as they grow!
I ADORE the idea of recreating a favorite portrait from a previous generation. Imagine if they had that same afghan in the second picture! Swoon!
I’m obsessed with this shadow picture. To die for.
Picture
I tried to make a collage of my oldest girl holding up signs that read “I” “Love” “You” and “Daddy” to put in a frame with four openings last year. It didn’t work out. But it’s a good idea! And if you are from a family with four kids and you DON’T do this … well, I don’t want to say you’re messing up, but … you are.

Or how about letting a younger kid choose his or her favorite memories and make a big collage in a website like picmonkey and get it printed out and framed?

And don’t get me started on all the fun things you can personalize from sites like shutterfly and snapfish! iPhone cases, mugs, calendars, oh my!

Once again, photos save the day.

Have a link to another great idea or have one of your own? Leave it in the comments!

Enjoy spreading the love to your mother and/or the women in your life who mother you. 🙂

You can find Veronica at her blog, Veronica M.D. (no, she’s not a real doctor), on Twitter, and InstagramFeel free to stalk her. She encourages it.

Leave a Reply

