Write a NICE letter

From the desk of: Veronica

I’ve been thinking a lot about the letter someone slid under the door of an autistic boy’s grandma the other day. I thought and thought about how I wanted to say something about it on my blog, but I didn’t. All I could think of was writing about how horrible it was, but I don’t know how much good that would do. Hate for hate? Eh. Probably won’t do much.

Then I thought of something little I could do. I could write a letter of my own and leave it for someone to find, only my letter would tell someone how great he or she was. Instead of finding a letter that makes you cry, wouldn’t it be great to find a letter that makes you smile?

So, naturally, I asked my three-year-old who the recipient of the letter should be. She chose her playgroup leader*. She told me things she liked about her, and I wrote it all down.


Our plan is to surreptitiously leave it on her desk after our next playgroup meeting. I thought it would be better if we left it for her to find instead of standing right there while she read it. (For clarification: the tattoo was temporary)

Josephine had a lot of fun doing this, and so did I. It was easy, made us feel good, and made someone else feel good. While I don’t necessarily believe that one nice note could cancel out the hate that the other note created, you all could always do the same and we could start a wave of positivity.

What do you think? Do you have the time to write a letter to someone who makes you happy? If you do, leave a comment, leave a link to a blog post, or tag it #writeaniceletter on Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram.

*P.S. Josephine goes to a playgroup once a week through the Great Start program. If you have one in your area, I cannot recommend it enough. It is like a miniature preschool, it’s free, and the people are fantastic.

You can find Veronica at her blog, Veronica M.D. (no, she’s not a real doctor), on TwitterInstagram, (and Pinterest!). Feel free to stalk her. She encourages it.


One thought on “Write a NICE letter

  1. Pingback: Write a NICE letter! :) | Dancing Butterflys

Leave a Reply

