Top Five Modern Christmas Movies

from the desk of: Veronica

My husband was just laughing at me for insisting on watching Harry Potter Movies while we decorated the tree instead of, say, Miracle on 34th Street or It’s a Wonderful Life.

I can’t help it. Those are just Christmas movies to me. I also happen to lean more toward the “modern” Christmas movies lately. These are my top five all-time favorite modern Christmas movies:

{all images from amazon.com}

5. The Family Stone

A lovely ensemble cast, lots of laughs, some tears, and heartwarming appreciation for family. Perfect.

4. Love Actually

Come on. Love, love, love, am I right? Heck, I walked down the aisle to “All You Need Is Love.” If you don’t like this movie, I don’t even know about you.

3. Scrooged

Maybe including this on the list of “modern” films ages me a wee bit, but I just love it. I love Bill Murray and A Christmas Carol is perfect no matter how you remake it (which reminds me — honorable mention goes to A Muppet Christmas Carol)

2. Home Alone and Home Alone 2

Yes, I’m counting this as one on the list. Deal. Perhaps having a little kid set up booby traps to thwart criminals doesn’t scream holiday fun to you, but it obviously does to me. I mean, they LEFT THE KID HOME ALONE ON CHRISTMAS. TWICE!

1. A Christmas Story

I mean, duh, right?  You’ll shoot your eye out. Ffffffffuuuuudge. Fra-gee-lay — must be Italian. This movie is obviously the best because it plays all day Christmas Eve. It’s perfect and beautiful.

So, which would you add? My husband would vote for National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation and I must admit … I haven’t ever seen Elf, though I know many of you are probably angrily shaking your fists at me for not including it. What else? I want to make sure my schedule of Christmas movies is full of the best this year. 🙂

You can find Veronica at her blog, Veronica M.D. (no, she’s not a real doctor), and on TwitterInstagram, and Pinterest. Feel free to stalk her. She encourages it.

Leave a Reply

