Best Sugar Cookies and Frosting Recipe

You guys — Christmas is coming. I was pretty ahead of the game this year, not to brag or anything, and other than a few things that popped up, I only have one big task to accomplish.

COOKIES.

I’m not much of a baker. Or a cook for that matter. But it’s not like I’m bad at it, and I would like to enjoy it more than I do, so this year instead of stealing a bunch of cookies from my mom’s house (I mostly refer to her as Betty Crocker), I thought I would make some of my own.

Revolutionary. I know.

Anyway, I thought some of you might be like me and leaving cookies to the last minute and could benefit from my mother’s fantastic recipes. I can’t give them all away, but I was given the green light to share her Famous Sugar Cookie recipe and her Can’t Fail Frosting recipe.

Image

Traditional Sugar Cookies

Cream together:

2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cup shortening

Mix in:

2 teaspoons vanilla

4 eggs

Add:

2 teaspoons baking powder

5 cups flour

Mix until the dough is very stiff. Cover and chill at least one hour.

Roll dough between two layers of parchment paper. Remove top layer and cut into shapes. Remove excess dough, leaving cookies on paper. Transfer parchment paper to your cookie sheet to bake.

Bake at 350°F for 6-8 minutes until set, but not brown.

Wait until cool to frost (if using sprinkles or colored sugar, add to dough before baking)

Makes about four dozen cookies

Decorator Frosting

In a large mixing bowl, cream with an electric or stand mixer:

     1 cup shortening

Add alternately:

4-6 cups powdered sugar (I do five)

1/3 cup milk

Add:

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix on medium high speed for several minutes until fluffy and the desired consistency. You can always add more milk or powdered sugar as needed to arrive at the perfect fluffiness.

Veronica’s tip: replace the teaspoon of vanilla with ½ teaspoon of vanilla and ½ teaspoon of mint extract for perfect mint frosting.

PRO MINT TIP: It will taste even mintier if you add some green food coloring. TRUST ME.

And there you have it, folks. The best cookies. Happy baking to all, and to all a good night!

Image

My girls making cookies with my mom

You can find Veronica at her blog, Veronica M.D. (no, she’s not a real doctor), and on TwitterInstagram, and Pinterest. Feel free to stalk her. She encourages it.

3 thoughts on “Best Sugar Cookies and Frosting Recipe

  1. Yay. I was just thinking about trying to make sugar cookies! I just wasn’t sure what recipe to use. I should add that I read all the blogs and should probably respond more LOL. I wonder how many others are out there reading all spy like!!!??? 😀 I can’t believe how much your oldest daughter has grown. Crazy how fast kids grow up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

